All Is Good…

The weather here, however dreary this morn’, proved quite lovely in the afternoon. Gravid clouds gave way to streaks of brilliant sun. Humidity crept back in, keeping fall at bay. Andi, our dog, despite the early morning dew, relished the early hour walk, replete with birdsong and fantastical web designs, spun by nocturnal arachnids.

My new job has proved most exciting, and it’s a comfort to know that I can once again provide a few shekels to our coffers, a few dinars to deflect the crush of grocery bills and such. The such being gas, for example. Isn’t it absolutely amazing how much we all spend on providing movement for our respective vehicles? And should gas cost as much as it does? Don’t get me started.

Andi and our three cats are doing quite well, although at times a couple of our kitties have escaped during the night, disappearing into the dark, inky depths to locales unknown to humans. Perhaps there resides a kitty bar, somewhere deep in the recesses of reeds and swamps, where toads and frogs keep rhythmic splendor to the swaying cats in attendance. Who knows?

Andi, however, stays within. He is our constant. He lies with us while we tune into the latest episode of ‘Breaking Bad’, or the new installment of ‘Dexter’. We can’t imagine him out for the entire evening. But then, perhaps there is a dog dive of bar somewhere, a complement to the feline tavern, where Andi can plop his paws on a plank and order a ‘Hair of a Dog’, the pub special. (They name it so, thinking  humans cannot possibly understand the humor present.)

That’s all for now, just a touch of nonsense and whimsy, something to post, something that flitted across my mind while my Lovely lies near, reading her magazines, and where my college-aged stepson lies nearby as well, soaking in the Red Sox, and while the three of us (well, four, if you count the ever-present Andi) await the return of our 12 year-old from a church dance, just down the street.)

All in all, a very good day. I am blessed with a very good life, health, and a never-ending stream of antics provided by our menagerie and boys on the cusp of manhood.

May your own evening give you a modicum of perspective and calm.

Copyright, Paul Grignon, 2013, All Rights Reserved.

2 responses to “All Is Good…

  1. Dear Paul,

    Thank you for a peek into your day and life. Very warm and homely, if I might add. Not every post need be earth shattering revelations or thought provoking hurdles. Quite often, the humble norms of a loving family makes for good reading, I reckon – something that mass media and moviedom shuns.

    You posted this on the 13th and for the life of me, I don’t know how I missed it until my weekly ‘peek’ into your blog. Glad I did too 🙂

    Yes, who knows what those flirtatious felines are up to. But the canines – regular homesbodies, I reckon.

    Nice that you’re well settled into your new job – and yes, that extra dough certainly helps with the baking 🙂

    Lovely to have two boys growing up so well – happy and proud parents, they’ll make you both, I’m sure.

    Trust you’ve had a great weekend and wishing you and your loved ones a great week ahead.

    Your friend,
    Eric

    • Dear Eric,

      What a pleasure to read your kind words, and thank you so much for the well wishes, for health and happiness.

      Work, as you know, can drain the urge to write, and I MUST get into some sort of routine in order to not only continue my blog but to revisit my mouldering WIP that sits and needs my attention and revision.

      I apologize for not replying sooner, and I have been remiss in perusing your fine writings. I have quite a backlog of yours to read and marvel at your wit and wisdom.

      Take care, my friend, and I, too, wish you and yours a lovely fall day, replete with an early morning cup o’ tea, and a wee dram (or two) of JD during the nocturne, something to chase away an autumnal chill.

      Best to you,
      Paul 🙂

Leave a Reply

