A Moving Experience…

Whew!

Man, oh man, I hate moving. We just pulled up stakes, as of June 1st, and this is the first time I’ve had a moment to breathe and get back to my blog.

It’s not simply a case of packing and moving in a single day. No, far from it. In fact, it took an entire week just to pack, and a handful of days to move, and I’m still in the process of sorting things out. (I know one of the cats is around here somewhere…)

So much has transpired of late, and I am woefully behind with my own blog as well as some of my favorites. Like my good and intelligent friend Eric Alagan’s elegant blog Written Words Never Die, or the hilarious Chuck Wendig at Terrible Minds, and of course a plethora of other fine sites.

Lately, the urge to purge to has never been greater. No, not that kind of purge. I mean the kind of saying the hell with a mountain of boxes and just simply tossing them into the trash. I cannot believe how much ‘stuff‘ we have.

But we have moved into larger digs, with more privacy, and the house comes with a huge barn and a massive attic, ample space for storage and for the felines to explore. Oh, and Andi you might ask? He’s acclimated himself quite nicely, thank you.

So MUCH more to say and discuss and tell, but for now more boxes and packages and sorting awaits me. We don’t have cable yet so I’m typing this at the library. (Poor Andi is in his crate–his room, I should say–and so I shan’t delay too much.

Suffice it to say I will be back very soon, to peruse many blogs and comments and lovely stories from fellow writers. I apologize for my silence, but a glimmer of the end (of moving) is, mercifully, nigh.

Mr. Alagan, I WILL make all attempts to get back to your fine writing very soon, and I look forward to reading your new material!

Thank you all for your patience, and I cannot wait to get my writing chops back into a semblance of order.

For now, take good care, and keep on writing!

Copyright, Paul Grignon, 2013, All Rights Reserved.

7 responses to “A Moving Experience…

  1. Throwing things away is a very efficient way of doing things πŸ˜› Congrats on moving to a bigger place!

    • Hi pjdonna!
      Sorry for the late reply. We JUST got wireless here so it’s been quite a ride of late.

      Thank you for the kind words ’bout moving, and it’s nice to be in a much larger place. The cats are loving it, and Andi seems to get lost at times in one of the rooms. Overall, despite the headaches, it’s been good.

      I’m sure by our next move, we will have weeded out even more!

      Take care, and thanks for your comments. I appreciate them!
      Paul

  2. “A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.” – H.D. Thoreau (Walden 1854) One of my favorite bits of wisdom when it comes to “stuff”: we are moving this month also, and, while I am not looking forward to the ordeal, I know that I will come out the other side lighter, and breathing easier. Having just been through many recent and deep life changes, I have already shed almost everything – except of course, what’s in my head, which can be the most insidious baggage of all – but this is one more opportunity. All the best to you and your transition!

    • Hi Rich,

      Thank you for the kind words, and I apologize for not getting back sooner. We just got wireless here, so now I’m back and can peruse all my mail. Thank you for your comment, and you’re quite right; there tends to be a lot of luggage in our noggins. Glad to hear, though, that you have lightened your load and that your own transition appears to be going smoothly.
      I wish you the best in your move, and thanks for the Thoreau quote. Rather apt!

      Take care,
      Paul : )

  3. Well, Paul – kinda strange that I missed this notification of your post – WP does play up sometimes. I actually came looking for you and saw this post dated 11 June!

    Hope all is going well with the unpacking and hope you find kitty πŸ™‚

    Take your time, no rush – I ain’t going nowhere πŸ™‚ was that a pun πŸ™‚

    Cheers my friend,
    Eric

    • Hello, my Dear Friend!

      Yes, sometimes WP does work in mysterious ways, much like the Universe.

      And you’re more than welcome for having your fine listing in my blog list. In fact, I’m glad that I was able to list yours as number one. : )

      Things are progressing nicely as far as moving in and sorting things out. Soon I shall post a blog pertaining to this upheaval, and it’ll be grand to partake in writing once again. I have missed composing sundry scribbles on a more or less daily basis.

      And I have been bereft of reading and responding to your own fine postings. Woefully behind in that regard. It’s going to be in the high 90’s today, so after an early morning stroll with Andi, I will peruse your latest gems. I shall relish reading them. : )

      Oh, and yes, we found the kitty. It seems that two of our felines are rather fond of mimicking barn cats.

      Take care, Eric, and I will, of course, have a response to your writings.

      Thank you for your kind words and wishes of good luck.

      warm wishes to you,
      Paul πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. Just want to say your article is as amazing. The clearness in your submit is simply excellent and that i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine together with your permission allow me to grasp your feed to stay up to date with approaching post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please carry on the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

