Dog Daze of Spring, Part 2…

"Hi! I'm Andi."

“Hi! I’m Andi.”

I sit on the floor, and look down into the doe eyes of Andi. It is a vastly different perspective from my previous  world of only cats.

A cat. Now there’s an easy animal to train. A little kitty, bring him home, set up a litter box, bowl of food and water, done. Set for life. The kitty will know to poop in the box, and has free reign of your house. No worries. Except perhaps a pilled chair or a furball now and then.

But a puppy. Hmm, slightly different, I am finding out.

We are crate training Andi, so that has been a challenge. But last night went well. He slept the entire night without having to go outside. A good start. But way too soon to give him free reign. I’ll give you an example.

I made a foolish mistake the other night. Andi woke up at 2:30 in the morning, so I took him out to pee. When I let him in, I told him to go to ‘Andi’s room’, what I call his crate. He usual does. But as I rounded the corner to the living room, there he was, curled up on the couch, staring at me with pleading eyes: “Please! Please let me sleep with you!” those eyes said.

"Oh, please! Can I...?"

“Oh, please! Can I…?”

How could I resist such magnificent beseeching eyes? So I did.

Well, come the morn’, I woke up and had to use the loo. I looked down at Andi, and he was fast asleep. I thought, ‘I should take him out first.’ But I didn’t.

When I returned, he was in the middle of the room, peeing on the rug. Aargh!

Holding back the urge to admonish him, I gently coaxed him into the cage, and cleaned up the puddle. I learned my lesson.

And our cats are slowly learning about this new creature in their midst, even boldly venturing near the crate. But I believe it will be awhile before they become best of friends. At least the cats are making the effort to introduce themselves. (Or maybe they’re just sizing him up and plotting Andi’s demise…)

'What is that creature in there?'

‘What is that creature in there?’

Miles plotting.

Miles plotting.

It has been six days since we adopted Andi and things are going much better. Right now as I type this he is wrapped around my back, pressed close to me and snoring away. I am barely perched on the couch, a mere few inches on the edge. Andi cannot get close enough it seems.

I look down into his eyes once again, and my mind returns to cats. Yeah, sometimes cats do what Andi is doing right now. But for the most part, what I love about felines, is their independence.

Some days, when you want your cats on your lap, you call them over to you: “Hi guys! C’mon, come here! Come sit on my lap!” The cats slowly turn their heads toward you and think, ‘Yeah, right. In your dreams’ and then they turn away, irritated that you bothered their precious nap time.

'We don't think so.'

‘We don’t think so.’

But a dog. After the same command, he couldn’t get there fast enough. Unless, of course, you have a leash in your hand, and you’re going to take him out in the rain again to see if he’ll pee or potty. Then, he’ll hesitate, and suspiciously eye your ulterior motive.

At this juncture, Andi will usually dart into his ‘room’ and curl up, still looking at me with those big, wary, brown eyes. Ah, so much to learn.

to be continued…

Our son and Andi.

Our son and Andi (with pilled chair).

©Paul Grignon, 2013, All Rights Reserved.

8 responses to “Dog Daze of Spring, Part 2…

  1. Oh that learning curve sometimes…Once we learn the lesson once though, we are far less likely to repeat the mistake! You little guy is absolutely adorable 🙂 Best of luck in your training with him!

    • Hello!

      And thank you so much for the kind words about Andi. And thanks for the advice; a long learning curve ahead, methinks. I look forward to reading your words as well.

      Take care,
      Paul

  2. I left a comment here a few days ago Paul – please check your spam folder. It is weird, me thinks.

    • Dear Eric,
      I haven’t received a comment from you about this post and it is not in spam. Hmm…those mischievous Brothers are at it again….

      I’m sure whatever your comment was, as they always are, a worthy and kind read.

      Take care,
      Paul 🙂

  3. Dear Paul,

    I believe I probably forgot to hit the “post comment” button – many things happening in my life this week and I’m behind in blogging and —-

    Anyway, I would have said “Arrrrgh!” about that pee on the carpet – thank you for reminding me why Lisa does not want a live-in pet. We live in an apartment now unlike the old days when our house had a yard and our pet dogs were not ‘live-in’ but ruled the roost with the chicken in the large and airy barn type structure.

    Miles does seem to be sizing up Andi – “He sure does not look like a tweety bird. And if he is a cat – man, he is ugly!”

    Peace, Eric

    • Dear Eric,

      Hilarious stuff there! I had to laugh at your humorous comments. Yeah, Andi does indeed make one ugly cat!

      I imagine that it would be too much to have a four-legged beast in an apartment, and you must miss that back yard and delightful barn. But perhaps one day–soon–after one of your novels makes the NY Times Bestseller List, you shall have a lovely country estate, replete with sprawling lawns and cavorting canines.

      Thanks again for taking your time to post such thoughtful messages. They are all very much appreciated.

      Take care,
      Paul

  4. Congratulations on your beautiful dog! I’m glad for you. I’ve had dogs all my life and they can be very high maintenance, but they’re also huge emotion sponges; the more you love them, the more love you’ll feel in return. Happy learning curve 🙂

    • Hello!
      And thank you for the compliments towards our new puppy. Yeah, I am learning that a dog can be high maintenance, but you are quite right; the more love given, the more received. He is a love, and he never fails to make us all smile with his varied looks.
      Take care,
      Paul : )

Leave a Reply

