Write Away Addendum…

012

I did it! I accomplished the goal of writing 50,000 words of a novel in 30 days! I am elated, and cannot wait to keep writing, and editing, and revising my story.

I ended up with 50,266 words, and now I can declare myself a winner in the NANOWRIMO contest. As I mentioned in my previous blog, no prizes are issued. The prize is the knowledge that I waded through each day, each hour, writing at least 1,667 words a day. Some days, when the writing really flowed, it was over 2,000.

And how did I celebrate my personal victory? The first thing I did when I looked down at the word count and realized I surpassed the magic number of 50,000, I let out a yell. My cats, sensing the onset of insanity, scattered to unknown corners of the house. I said to myself, “Yes! You did it, Paul! Hah! And all the naysayers were proved wrong!” I immediately thanked my lovely Julie, for she was the only one that believed in me. And then I thought about my Dad, who died over two years ago, and tears came to my eyes. “I did it, Dad. I completed something in my life,” I said aloud. I think he would have been proud of me. And I know that Julie is proud of me. She works two jobs, puts in long hours, and comes home exhausted. She does this so I can sit behind a keyboard and peck at it all day. She is, without a doubt, a love. And patient.

So that is where I am right now. And soon I will be right back to writing. In fact, before composing this post, I’ve already added 956 words to my manuscript today. Another 30-40,000 words to go this month, and then I can hunker down and pare and revise and tighten my words.

For now, though, it feels grand to have finished this goal. And now I must, as a writer, continue making a GOAL. That four-letter word is integral, and if I am indeed a writer, I must adhere to that commandment.

Let me know what goals you have accomplished of late, and do contemplate next year’s NANOWRIMO. I found it to be an excellent way of getting the juices flowing, and it has been an incredible journey. I look forward to the many journeys ahead.

Now, back to my story…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

