The Writer’s Lie…addendum

My past post of a writer’s life and all that it entails resonated with a few folk, and I thought I’d tack on a few more things that perhaps other writers do that removes them from the keyboard or pad and pen. Like composing a post.

Take this morning, for example. My wife got ready  for work, and I got her lunch and my son’s lunch all set. Then I tended to the dishes, got gas for her car, drove to Dunkin Donuts for her fix of caffeine on the road, came back and made sure my Beloved was all set for her arduous day. Meanwhile my son, who is eleven, s-l-o-w-l-y got ready for school. I checked on him 10 minutes later, and he was still slumbering.

At 7:40am, the computer is on, I’ve checked my emails, and I have a few Word documents up and running, all rarin’ for words to populate the page.

One more sip of joe, and I took my boy out the bus stop. Another 10 minutes passed, and finally the bus arrived. Back inside, I made another cup of coffee. I then remembered that my Love wanted me to post a few letters and pick up some items from the store. Dutifully, after staring at my screen for another five minutes or so I got up, made sure  that our three cats were fed, and left the house for the appointed chores.

I came back and now it is 10:15am. I put away the groceries, glanced at my white screen sitting on the kitchen table, and I then managed to find something else to do before settling down to write. Because that is what I do. I write.

When I’m not engaged in any self-sabotage devices.

I got up and made the beds, and returned to my tepid cup of coffee. I sat down at my computer, scrolled through the various documents up and running. and instead decided to add this to my past post.

But within this post I just wanted to add a great resource for other writers out there. I just got the latest ‘The Writer‘ magazine, and it is LOADED with great advice as to how to get your sorry ass (there’s a self-sabotage comment if I’ve ever heard one…) in gear. Great stuff within its pages, but now….now it’s time to send along this post and get back to writing.

Because that is what I do. That is what we all do. I bid you all many filled pages of your manuscript today.

Take care, and be kind to yourself.

Paul

Copyright, Paul Grignon, 2012, All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

