Child’s Play

Drawing from the Imagination

Jace drawing at 10

Jace drawing at 10

An adult could never duplicate the drawings of children, no matter how hard they try. There’s something wholly unique to the scribbles and lines to a kid’s work of art that are impossible to replicate. Go ahead. Try it. You can’t.

Jace drawing at 8

Here are a few drawings my sons have done over the past few years. They never cease to amaze me with the level of intricacy and imaginative outpourings they put on the page. Very sophisticated, I must say.

Jace at 10

Along with my two boys, I love to look at the art work of children in the various schools where I substitute teach, especially at Roosevelt Elementary in Worcester. They have an excellent art curriculum, and the hallways on each of the four floors are always festooned with art from every grade.

When I sub, I am always impressed and in awe of what kids come up with when given an assignment. Kids drawings are very special and should be kept as mementos of their youth.

Cam drawing from 3rd grade

My 10 year old continues to churn out elaborate action scenes, as he is into Marvel Comics (weren’t we all, way back when?) With the ascendency of video games, though, his pages reflect this trend; monsters and aliens, super heroes and army men, all populating the pages.

Elaborate drawing, Jace at 10

I never tire of what he draws, and I can’t wait to go into his room after he takes the bus to school, to pick up some things off the floor and just simply gaze at the wonderful creations he painstakingly drew the night before. And his brother has done some wonderful work as well. Just look at that incredible drawing of an owl!

May their artistic Muses never stray too far.

Copyright, Paul Grignon, 2012, All Rights Reserved.

Another amazing drawing, Jace at 10

 

2 responses to “Child’s Play

  1. The boys are blessed to have your artistic influence

    • Hello, Tracy!

      THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR NICE RESPONSE TO MY POST. I APPRECIATE IT, AND IT WAS EQUALLY PLEASANT TO RUN IntO YOU AND NAOMI AT THE STORE THE OTHER DAY. I DO HOPE THAT SHE IS DOING SWIMMINGLY ACROSS THE POND, WITH MUCH EXCITEMENT STILL AWAITING HER YOUNG SOUL.

      GIVE MY LOVE TO HER AND LIAM, AND I WISH YOU ALL WELL WITH LIFE AT THE ZOO.

      WARM WISHES,
      PAUL (sorry for all the capitals; I just realized that I had ‘caps on’. : )

Leave a Reply

