‘Ad’ Nauseum

Every morning, arising from a pleasant slumber, I venture into the kitchen to start our Keurig, a fine Christmas gift indeed.

I then pad into the living room, performing the morning ritual of plugging in the TV (you have to keep an eye on that pesky vampire power…), turn on a light or two, and listen to what is supposed to be the news. As the TV chatters on, I shuffle back into the kitchen and pour the first of many cups of joe.

But one does not really hear the news, do they? I mean, isn’t there a war or two going on in the world, theatres of mayhem and misery that can possibly be reported on?

But no. Instead, one is treated to a steady stream of advertisements, either the fabulous attributes spewed from a multitude of furniture companies, or an endless stream of car commercials with a bevy of braying blowhards. And then once the ‘news’ begins, it is relegated mostly to sports.

Now correct me if I’m wrong, but I do believe that there are many people out there who do not give a rodent’s buttocks over the latest score, or their advance in the standings, of whatever local team just happens to be in the playoffs. Here, I’ll give you an example.

Yes, I live in New England. Yes, the Patriots are the home team. I know that. But I certainly do not need to hear about them 24/7, every goddamn waking moment.

I know, to you rabid sports fans out there, that is tantamount to being sacrilegious. (Please see the above comment about a rat’s hindquarters…)

And yes, said beloved Patriots did win today, and will now advance into the Superbowl, and that is indeed wonderful news. But now…but now it will be even worse, the constant onslaught of Patriot fervor, of tight ends and mustaches, and listening to more commercials that bow in sycophantic fashion to this hallowed franchise, ‘ad’ infinitum.

Jesus, for once I’d just like to hear the news, something besides endless sports and endless drivel uttered from plastic politicians.

I am quite certain that the military-industrial-financial-oil conglomerates are up to something these days, and I’d like to hear about it.

Go Pats. Rah.

Copyright, Paul Grignon, 2012, All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

